According to statistics released by the NHTSA, 3,166 people were killed in accidents caused by distracted driving. To reduce these devastating statistics and further protect our drivers, on July 1, 2019, Tennessee will become the 19th state to ban handheld cell phone use while driving.
All drivers over the age of 18 operating a vehicle in Tennessee will be prohibited from directly speaking, texting, or using his or her cellphone while in physical control of their vehicle. Previous laws in Tennessee prevented cell phone use in a school zone, while the new law beginning July 1 goes much further in eliminating distracted driving.
At this time, it is unknown how many points this one offense will put on your driving record or how particular Tennessee courts will prosecute these cases. What is known is the monetary penalties that can be incurred for each offense, including:
- $50 fine for first offense
- $100 fine for third offense or if cell phone use results in a wreck
- $200 fine for cell phone use in a school zone or when workers are present
The only people excluded from the new law are emergency personnel, utility workers, police officers, and anyone deemed to be using their phone to make an emergency call. The best legal advice we can offer is to invest in Bluetooth enabled devices to assist with hands free calling. Not only will you be helping prevent distracted driving, but you will also be following a new law that will be strictly enforced.
In the past, we have written multiple articles on the dangers of distracted driving, seeing first hand the damage that can be done when a client is injured in an auto accident that was completely preventable. Any law that will cut down on distracted driving is a win for all of us who operate bicycles, motorcycles, scooters, or automobiles on a daily basis.
The Chiozza Law Firm has been dedicated to helping clients recover from injuries sustained in auto accidents for many years. If you are confused or overwhelmed following an accident, rest assured that you can come to our office, and our entire firm will assist in opening, investigating, and helping your legal matter reach a favorable outcome.
We believe that the client comes first and that the client is the one who should receive a fair and reasonable settlement. Therefore, we have adopted a policy wherein the maximum fee for an automobile accident for us is 25%, as compared to the 33 1/3% that most law firms charge their clients, if not more.
If you have a medical malpractice claim, suffered a personal injury, were arrested in Memphis, or were merely given a speeding ticket in Shelby County, we are always here to help.
We are confident that if you give us a call at 901-526-9494 to discuss your potential claim, we know you will like what we have to say. You will be treated with the utmost attention and respect, just like a family member.
SPEAK TO A LAWYER
901Law.com, expert legal representation for a reasonable fee. The Memphis Law Firm for all your legal needs!