• Watch our video
  • 901.526.9494
  • Search

Blog

Points on a Tennessee Drivers Record – How Many is Too Many?

The State of Tennessee is no different than other places in our country in that you are allowed a certain number of points on your driver’s record per year before your license is suspended. These points can be assessed against your record for moving violations such as speeding, reckless driving, or accidents. 

The Tennessee Department of Safety monitors your driving record, and anyone who has accumulated twelve (12) or more points during any 12 month period is sent a notice of proposed suspension and given the opportunity to request an administrative hearing.  Failure to request a hearing can result in a suspension of your license for six (6) to twelve (12) months.  If you request a hearing there is a possibility you will be offered Defensive Driving School in lieu of a suspension.

Suspended License for Juveniles

The system is different for juvenile drivers in that drivers less than 18 years of age may not accumulate more than six (6) points during any twelve (12) month period without facing possible suspension.

How Many Points is My Offense?

The following is a list of offenses and the points each offense will put on your driver’s record:

Moving Traffic
Tickets and Court Abstractions where speed not indicated on source documents
3
Speeding 1 through 5 mph in excess of speed zone
1
Speeding 6 through 15 mph in excess of speed zone
3
Speeding 16 through 25 mph in excess of speed zone
4
Speeding 26 through 35 mph in excess of speed zone
5
Speeding 36 through 45 mph in excess of speed zone
6
Speeding 46 mph and above in excess of speed zone
8
Speed is less than posted minimum
3
Driving too fast for conditions, failure to reduce speed to avoid an accident
3
Operating at erratic or sudden changing speed
3
Reckless Driving
6
Careless or negligent driving
4
Failing to obey traffic instructions
4
Improper passing
4
Wrong way, side or direction
4
Following improperly
3
Following emergency vehicle unlawfully
3
Failing to yield the right-of-way
4
Making improper turn
3
Failure to signal direction or to reduce speed suddenly
3
Stopping, standing, obstructing, or blocking traffic
3
Coasting; operating gears disengaged
3
Improper backing
3
Improper starting, burning rubber, spinning tires, peeling out
3
Driver view or mechanism obstructed
3
Driving mountain highway-controlled/audible warning
3
Inability to maintain control
3
Improper operation of or riding on a motorcycle
3
Improper lane or location, driving on roadways for traffic
3
Use of controlled access roadway
4
Inattentive driving, due care, failure to drive in careful manner, unsafe lookout, improper driving
3
Cross private property to avoid stop sign or signal
4
Operating a vehicle while using cell phone (under 18)
6
Passing a stopped school bus, church or youth bus taking on or discharging passengers
8
Violation of driver license or certificate restrictions
6
Reckless endangerment by vehicle (misdemeanor)
8
Miscellaneous traffic violations; any offense involving the unsafe operation of a non- commercial motor vehicle not herein specified
3
Leaving the scene of a crash (no revocation action only)
5
Failure to report a crash
4
Failure to yield to emergency vehicles; Failure to change lanes/slow down for authorized vehicles on roadside
6
Failure to stop at railroad crossing
8

 

Construction Zone
Tickets and court abstracts where speed isn't posted
4
Speeding 1-5 mph above posted speed
2
Speeding 6-15 mph above posted speed
4
Speeding 16-25 mph in above posted speed
5
Speeding 26-35 mph above posted speed
6
Speeding 36 mph and above posted speed
8

Unfortunately, we see people with a suspended license too often in Memphis and the Mid-South area. A suspension is usually due to non-payment of tickets or accidents. Once a suspension goes active it can be extremely difficult, time-consuming and expensive to have your license reinstated.

We recommend that you contact an experienced lawyer to advise you on any possible pending tickets you may have or advice on any Driving While License Suspended charges you may be facing.  As we wrote about earlier this year, a charge of driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor criminal offense and should be treated seriously.

The Chiozza Law Firm has experienced lawyers who will work to help you thru any situation, whether it involves a traffic citation or criminal charge. Call 901-526-9494 for a free consultation or email Brian Chiozza, brian@chiozzalaw.com, for help. 

Posted by Brian Chiozza at 2:57 PM

Please answer the simple math question below to submit the form.
2 + 2 =