Possession of Weapons Attorney in Memphis, TN
Weapon crimes are no laughing matter. If you or someone you know has been charged with a weapon crime, it’s important to have an attorney at your back that you can trust. Weapon crimes are often strictly prosecuted and the outcome of your case can range beyond the initial verdict. You may be fined or even serve jail time before your case goes to trial. The Chiozza Law Firm has years of experience defending individuals accused of weapon-related crimes, and have the knowledge you need to get the best possible outcome.
Weapon Laws in Tennessee
In order to build the best case, it’s important to understand several key laws. As criminal weapons charges can be tried at both the state and federal level, collecting all of the facts is paramount. Each state has different laws that can greatly affect the outcome of your trial.
It’s important to know your rights, and this is doubly important in the case of a weapon crime.
- No permit is required to purchase a gun in TN
- Any individual over 18 may purchase a firearm assuming the weapon itself isn’t prohibited in the state
- A minor is eligible to acquire a firearm on loan from an adult
- A minor is eligible to have a firearm for the purposes of hunting, camping, and other legal sporting activities.
- To purchase a handgun, an individual may be subject to a background check.
- Felons are not allowed to own firearms.
Banned Weapons in Tennessee
In addition to understanding some of the basic laws surrounding the possession of a weapon, it’s also important to know what kinds of weapons are absolutely prohibited by the state of Tennessee.
These items include:
- Grenades or other explosive devices
- A grenade launcher or device modified to shoot an explosive weapon
- Machine guns
- A short-barreled or “sawed-off” rifle or shotgun
- A silencer
- A hoax device (an item that could be perceived as a weapon)
- A knife over 4 inches in length
Fines and Penalties for Weapon Crimes in Tennessee
Being charged with the unlawful possession of a weapon in the state of Tennessee is associated with various fines and jail time depending on the seriousness of the offense.
If it’s your first offense, you’ll face Class C misdemeanor charges, which include a month of jail time, and up to $500 in fines. If you’ve been charged before, you’re more likely to face up to six months in jail and additional fines.
Note that it is illegal to be under the influence of any illicit substance or alcohol and be in possession of some weapons. If you’re facing a Class A misdemeanor, you may be subject to a year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. This is in addition to any legal fees you may incur while awaiting trial.
Chiozza Can Help You Fight Weapon Crime Charges
Chiozza Law Firm has been representing people just like you for over 30 years. Our experienced team of seasoned criminal defense attorneys is ready to do what it takes to achieve the best possible outcome for your case. We have handled many different kinds of weapons charges and know the complexities involved.
Each weapon crime charge is unique and involves many variables, sometimes making them difficult to pursue. It’s easy for emotions to run high on both sides. That’s why you need the help of our professional, qualified lawyers. If you’ve been charged with weapons possession in Tennessee, reach out today to find out how we can help you.